Bike to School Day is Wednesday, May 10, 2017

 Bikes outside a school fence 


Bike Safety Check

Saturday, May 6

12-3 p.m.

Challenge your skills in a bike obstacle course, enter to win a new bike, receive a free safety check and helmet adjustment, and get safety tips and more at The Bicycle Shop - Dimond.



The Bicycle Shop - Dimond

1801 W. Dimond Blvd.


Anchorage School District students will be riding their bikes to celebrate Bike to School Day on Wednesday, May 10. More than 50 schools and facilities will be participating in this event that promotes healthy habits, safe bicycling and a cleaner environment.


Health and Physical Education teachers and other staff are coordinating the event at schools. "Bike to School Day is a great opportunity for our students to explore a healthy alternative for getting to school. We're pleased to support this event that promotes safety and community benefits as well," said ASD Health and and Physical Education coordinator Melanie Sutton.


Students must wear a helmet to participate and should wear bright clothing. We suggest you help your student find a safe route to school. The Municipality of Anchorage Safe Routes Web page has maps that can help. Your school can also provide assistance.


Join the fun. Parents are invited to ride with their students to school.


Contact Kimberly Resheske for additional information.


Download the Bike to Schoolposter and flier to promote the event in your school!



Schools participating in Bike to School Day 2017


Elementary schools
School Coordinator(s)
Abbott Loop Michel Woods
Alpenglow Lisa Earnhart
Aurora Amy Hollon
Baxter Deb Huling-Plzak
Bayshore Ian Autrey
Bowman Sara Paulson
Campbell Lisa Pullen; Wendy Parsons
Chinook Mike Higbee
Chugach Optional  Polly Smith
Creekside Park Bridie Hunt
Denali Montessori Shawn Horning
Girdwood K-8 Cassie Quinn
Gladys Wood    Travis Tobin
Government Hill    Jeannie Carey
Homestead Jason Payne
Huffman Fiona Piechel
Inlet View Tim Stevens
Kasuun  Nathan Korthuis
Klatt Josh Chelf
Lake Otis Susie Howard
Muldoon  Jami Eistetter
Northwood ABC Mark Heysell
Ocean View Lindsay Jones
Orion Jenna White
Rogers Park Ben Elbow
Russian Jack Lisa Pullen; Wendy Parsons
Sand Lake Heather White
Scenic Park Scott Armstrong
Susitna    Chris Putman
Taku Natalie Washington
Trailside Ben Richardson
Tudor Lisa Nassuk
Turnagain Ann Baker
Ursa Minor James Linderman
School Coordinator(s)
Girdwood K-8 Cassie Quinn
Middle schools
School Coordinator(s)
Central Amber Myers
Mears Megan Perkins
Wendler  Kimberlee Boyd
High schools
School Coordinator(s)
Chugiak  Brian Mason
Dimond Jay Strange
Eagle River High School   Lisa Kelzenberg and Kirby Senden
South Shasta Miller
School Coordinator(s)


Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.