World Languages

World Languages Events


Events

The World Languages program supports a variety of events throughout the school year to showcase student learning and increase public awareness of second language education. The community is invited to many of these events. Any questions should be directed to the contact person listed with the event or the school.

 

‌Multilingual

Declamation Contests

Regional: Sat., Feb. 4, 2017 | 7:30am-4:30pm

State: Sat., Mar. 4, 2017 | 7:30am-4:30pm

South High School

Contact Kristi Senden or Elizabeth Dick

Website

 

16th Annual International Songfest

Fri., Dec. 2, 2016 | 6:00-7:00pm

Alaska Center for the Performing Arts 

Contact Will Kimball

  

Japanese flagJapanese

14th Annual Alaska Association of Teachers of Japanese Alaska Speech Contest

Sat., March 25, 2017 | 8:00am-4:00pm

University of Alaska Anchorage

Contact Sachiko Kono

Website

 

Dimond Japanese Immersion Program Completion Ceremony

Wed., May 10, 2017 | 7:00-9:00pm

Dimond High School, Auditeria

Contact Miyuki Imai or Victoria Gellert

 

Sand Lake Sixth Grade Japanese Immersion Program Completion Ceremony

Tues., May 23, 2017 | 7:00-9:00pm

Mears Middle School

Contact Hisakazu Iwasaki

 

Tomo No Kai Fall Family Dinner

Sat., Oct. 8, 2016 | 6:00-8:00pm

Mears Middle School

 

Tomo No Kai Art Auction

Sat., March 4, 2017 | 6:00-9:30pm

O'Malley's on the Green

 

Cherry Blossom Festival

Fri., April 21, 2017 | 6:00-8:00pm

Dimond High School

 

Chinese flagChinese

Chinese New Year Dragon Celebration

Feb. 8, 2016 | 1:30-3:30pm

Scenic Park Elementary

Contact Robyn Lin

 

Chinese New Year Celebration

Week of February 8-12, 2016

Bartlett High School

Contact Yan Wang

 

Chinese Moon Festival

Fri., Oct. 2, 2015 | 2:00-5:00pm

Bartlett High School

Contact Yan Wang

 

 

Russian flagRussian

Father Frost

Sat., Jan. 14, 2017 | 2:00-4:00pm

Turnagain Elementary

Contact Elena Farkas

 

Maslenitsa Farewell to Winter Celebration

Sat., April 8, 2017 | 12:00-3:00pm

Turnagain Elementary

Contact Elena Farkas

 

Olympiada

Friday, March 2, 2017 | 8:00am-3:00pm

ASD Education Center

Contact Valerie Ekberg-Brown

Website

 

Elementary Olympiada

Friday, March 2, 2017 | 9:30am-1:30pm

ASD Education Center

Contact Anna Walker or Inna Ashcraft 

 

Russian Immersion Program Transition to Middle School Ceremony

Wed., May 10, 2017 | 2:00-3:15pm

Turnagain Elementary School

Contact Carissa Cote

 

West HS Russian Immersion Program Completion Ceremony

Thur., May 4, 2017 | 6pm-8pm

WHS Auditorium 

Contact Elena Farkas

French flagFrench

French Camp

Sat., Nov. 7, 2015 | 10:00am-3:00pm

Bartlett High School 

Contact: Nicole Ayers

 

German flagGerman

Jugendfest

Sat., April 7, 2017 | 9:00-2:30pm

Northern Lights ABC School

Theme: GERMAN FESTIVALS!

Contact Lucia Woofter

 

German Camp, Theme: Fairy Tales and Legends 

Fri./Sat. Nov. 6-7, 2015 

Birchwood Camp

Contact Will Kimball

 

National German Awards Reception

Wed., April 19, 20117 | 5:00-6:30pm

Rilke Schule German Charter School 

Contact: Will Kimball

 

 

 

Spanish flagSpanish

Chugiak HS Spanish Immersion Completion Ceremony

Fri., May 12, 2017 | 6:00-8:00pm

Contact Eugenia Merrifield

 

West HS Spanish Immersion Completion Ceremony

Fri., May 5, 2017 | 6:00-8:00pm

West High School Auditorium

Contact Juan Vazquez

 

 

 


Accessibility
Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.